Dor-us Siyodat, Shakhrisabz

  • 18 April, 2017
  •   0
  • 0
  • 4829

Alongside with the construction of Ak-Saray palace, in 1380 they started building one more monumental construction – Dorus Saodat complex. Of this complex there survived to our days only two constructions: Jahangir’s mausoleum and crypt for Temur, where he was never buried. A dismal event motivated Temur to start building the memorial complex. In 1376 his eldest son Jahangir, whom the ruler loved dearly and intended to make his successor, suddenly died at the age of 22. The citizens of Samarkand moaned the loss of the crown prince – “a fair prince, a gallant warrior who flashed by on the earth like a rose”. After the death of his beloved son, Temur himself gave way to an overwhelming grief.

The body of Jahangir, who died in Samarkand, was brought to Shakhrisabz – the hometown of his ancestors, where he was buried on the family graveyard on the ancient Shakhrisabz town territory. To all appearance, it was then that Temur arrived at an idea of building a mausoleum for himself and his descendants. But only four years later, after his military campaign to Khorezm was completed, the construction of the burial complex started in Shakhrisabz. Above the grave of the crown prince there was erected a mausoleum, with an adjoining madrassah, which became the philosophical and spiritual centre of the complex. The name of the complex itself – Dorus Saodat – can be interpreted from Arabic as “Precept of Power”. The madrassah hasn’t survived; according to Arabic historian Malikho, it was destroyed in the 17th century by orders of Abdullakhan.

During the excavation works on the territory of Dorus Saodat complex it was discovered that Jahangir mausoleum was abutted on the east by ziaratkhona – the room for commemoration. To the south of the mausoleum there was discovered a portal niche of the madrassah with the arch span exceeding 20 metres. Through the portal a passage led to the courtyard of the madrassah containing the remains of khujra walls. Deep aivans with sufas to sit on opened to the yard. The stone slabs once paving the aivans niches and portals survived to the present day. Dorus Saodat madrassah was initially intended not for teaching but for performing religious and memorial rites. Vakf (property donation) documents of the madrassah included estates, mansions and gardens. The revenues generated on this property had to be used for maintenance of dynasty burial. According to Ruy Gonzales de Clavijo, madrassah and mausoleum of Jahangir were richly decorated with gold, azure and tiles. There was also a garden with pools here. In 1394, Umar Shekh, the second, 29-year-old son of Temur perished during the siege of Kurd fortress in Iran. His body was brought to Shakhrisabz and buried in Dorus Saodat complex. Every day, by the special order of Temur the meat of twenty cooked sheep was brought to madrassah for commemoration of his sons buried in the complex.

At the same time Temur ordered to construct a mausoleum for himself, but it remained unfinished. In 1404 he inspected the construction and was rather dissatisfied with the result. He found the entrance to be too low and ordered to rebuild it. This mausoleum has not survived. However, on the basis of historical documents as well as the results of archeological research, on the territory of Dorus Saodat complex there was found Temur’s crypt. This is one of the most remarkable and majestic construction of Amir Temur’s epoch. Judging from the records of Temur’s contemporaries, the resplendent sumptuous decoration of above-ground construction contrasted with the unpretentious décor of the underground crypt. Coming down the steep staircase on the southern side of the mausoleum one finds himself in a small room (less then 40 square metres). The walls, floor, and domed ceiling with supporting arches are made of slabs of light-grey marble-like limestone. In the centre of the room, embedded in floor, there stands a marble sarcophagus. It is covered with a huge, monolithic marble gravestone, which is 11 centimetres thick, with 5 iron rings being attached at the corners and in the middle. On the walls, arch rings and medallions there are carved in sulus script quotations from Koran and inscriptions which read as follows: “The Command belongs to Allah alone. He is Eternal”, and “In Allah’s hand is all Good, over all things He has power." The fate willed it that the body of Sakhibkeran Temur should be buried not in the crypt of Shakhrisabz, but in Gur-Emir mausoleum in Samarkand.

Dorus Saodat complex remains one of the most romantic and mysterious architectural ensemble in Shakhrisabz


Source: http://www.manzaratourism.com/en/uzbekistan/dorus-saodat-memorial

Gallery

Ансамбль Дорус-Саодат

  • 18 Aprel, 2017
  •   0
  • 0
  • 2395

В 1380 году в Шахрисабзе одновременно со строительством дворца Ак-Сарай началось сооружение еще одного монументального ансамбля, известного под названием Дорус-Саодат. До наших дней от ансамбля Дорус-Саодат сохранились мавзолей Джахангира и склеп Темура, в котором он так и не был погребен. Поводом для возведения мемориального комплекса послужило печальное событие – в 1376 году скоропостижно, на двадцать втором году жизни, умер старший сын Темура Джахангир, которого властелин горячо любил и готовил в свои наследники. Жители Самарканда оплакивали неожиданную смерть наследника престола, «справедливого царевича, храброго воина, мелькнувшего на земле, как роза». Сам повелитель впал в глубокую депрессию.

Тело Джахангира, скончавшегося в Самарканде, было перевезено на родину предков в Шахрисабз, где было захоронено на родовом кладбище на территории древнего шахрисабзского шахристана. Видимо, тогда у Темура зародилась мысль о сооружении здесь мавзолея для себя и своих потомков. Но лишь через четыре года, после завершения похода в Хорезм, было начато возведение погребального комплекса. Над могилой царевича был возведен мавзолей, а к нему пристроено медресе, которое стало философским и духовным ядром всего комплекса. Само название комплекса Дорус-Саодат некоторые исследователи толкуют как «Уроки власти» в переводе с арабского. Медресе не сохранилось, по свидетельству арабского историка Малихо, оно было разрушено в XVII веке по указанию Абдуллахана.

В ходе археологических раскопок на территории комплекса Дорус-Саодат выявилось, что с востока к мавзолею Джахангира примыкала зиаратхона – помещение для поминовений. К югу от мавзолея была обнаружена портальная ниша медресе с пролетом между устоями более 20 метров. От портала коридор вел во двор медресе с остатками стен худжр. Во двор выходили глубокие айваны, оформленные суфами. Сохранились каменные плиты, которыми были вымощены ниши айванов и портала. Медресе Дорус-Саодат изначально было предназначено не для обучения, а для выполнения культово-мемориальных функций. В вакф медресе были отписаны поместья, усадьбы и цветущие сады, доходы от которых предназначались для содержания династической усыпальницы. По словам Руи Гонсалеса де-Клавихо, медресе и мавзолей Джахангира были богато отделаны золотом, лазурью и изразцами. Здесь же был устроен сад с водоемами. В 1394 году при осаде крепости Курд в Иране погиб второй сын Темура, двадцатидевятилетний Умаршайх. Его тело также доставили в Шахрисабз и похоронили в Дорус-Саодат. Каждый день по приказанию Темура в медресе привозили двадцать вареных баранов для поминовения душ погребенных здесь его сыновей.

Темур приказал построить усыпальницу и для себя, однако она осталась незаконченной. В 1404 году он осмотрел ее и остался недоволен, говоря, что вход в нее низок и велел его переделать. Мавзолей, предназначенный для Темура, не сохранился, однако по историческим документам и в результате археологических исследований на территории комплекса Дорус-Саодат был обнаружен склеп Амира Темура. Это одно из самых замечательных, величественных и торжественных сооружений эпохи Темура. Судя по описаниям современников, сверкающей роскоши наземного помещения зиаратханы противостоял аскетизм подземного склепа. Спустившись в него с южной стороны по крутой лестнице, вы попадаете в небольшое, менее 40 квадратных метров, помещение. Стены, полы, купол и арки, поддерживающие его, выполнены из блоков светло-серого мраморовидного известняка. В центре – вмурованный в пол мраморный саркофаг накрытый огромной монолитной плитой из мрамора толщиной 11 сантиметров с пятью железными кольцами по углам и в середине. На стенах в архивольтах арок и в медальонах вырезаны почерком сульс суры из Корана и надписи, гласящие: «Господство принадлежит Аллаху. Только Аллах вечен», «Благо в руках Аллаха, и он во всем могуч». Судьба распорядилась по своему усмотрению, и местом погребения Сахибкирана стал Гур-Эмир в Самарканде.

Комплекс Дорус-Саодат – один из самых романтических и загадочных архитектурных ансамблей Шахрисабза.


Manba: http://www.manzaratourism.com/ru/uzbekistan/dorus-saodat-memorial

Galereya